Moving Things Around

July 23, 2010 at 9:14 pm Leave a comment

I’ve been looking into adding more stock to my site, in particular some lovely baby shoes. I just have to wait for approval of my wholesale account.

While I’ve been waiting (im)patiently, (why do they have to take so long?) I decided to move things around on my site to make more room. I didn’t want my shop front page to scroll on forever. I thought it would make sense to have just one catagory for  Babywear and then create three sub-catagories for Baby Girls, Baby Boys and Disney Babies. I started with Baby boys and carefully copy and pasted all the details of the items into the new catagory, then I did the Baby Girls and it all got very tedious so I left the Disney Babies until later. When I went back what did I discover, a drop down menu that allows you to move items from one catagory to another, it took me less than two minutes to move my Disney Babies stock!!! Oh well, we live and learn.

Now I’ll go back to waiting for my wholesale approval. I’ve already been approved by another site but I’ve decided to hold off until I decide to stock up for Christmas as the first minimum buy is quite big.

I’m also thinking of taking an ad out in a magazine. It’s not cheap but I think it could really help with promotion. I might ask around a bit though before I make a final decision. It’s not easy getting your site noticed but I know with time it will come. My aim to find a database of customers who will give me repeated business, and then I will only need to drive new traffic to increase my customer base.

I’ve been working on setting up a newsletter too. Now I don’t like inbox spam just like everyone but my plan is to make my newsletter informative and fun and include lots of benefits for those who decide to subscribe. I’m going to get started on my content very soon and then I’ll do a competition to get a subscriber list. I’ve actually got previous experience of newsletters/ezines as I ran one for a couple of years before, so this is something I’m really looking forward too.

Entry filed under: New Ideas, shop updates. Tags: , , , , , .

Giveaway Competition Winner Competition Time Again!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Beginning

Welcome to my blog which I've set up to record the events following the opening of my online shop. I'm starting with the day the shop went live and recording the whole journey.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Twitter

Kiddiebase

Links

My New Shop Bump To Bundle

Find Me On Facebook

Connect with me on BTTradespace

Find Me on FreeIndex

bookmark


