The Weekend

June 12, 2010 at 3:21 pm 2 comments

So this is the end of my first week of having Sweetbabylula online. It’s been an interesting week.

My visitors are starting to wane, I’m guessing mostly because my friends who clicked through at first to check out my site are no longer doing this. That’s understandable, now it’s up to me to get the visitor count up and keep it up. Never an easy task but one I will face full on.

I’ve noticed a couple of orders that have got as far as checkout and then been abandoned. Maybe it’s because I can only offer payment by paypal right now? I’ve put a note on the checkout page saying that you don’t need a Paypal account to pay, you can use a regular credit/debit card and pay through Paypal without setting up an account. I know Paypal used to have a bit of reputation but they’ve been around a long time and are now one of the safest ways to pay online, so I don’t understand why people still mistrust them.

I now have an hour free to research some ways of promoting my site. Unfortunately I don’t have the budget to start paying yet which is a shame, but maybe soon. If anyone reading has any tips please share 🙂

Entry filed under: shop updates. Tags: , , , , , , .

And It’s Friday! One week on

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mummywhotweets  |  June 12, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    I had the same with checkout abandonment and thought it was paypal so introduced Nochex and now Netbanx (both at an additional cost) but still have some checkout abandonment so its just part of life. Your site is good in that it tells people up front what the shipping cost is, so that’s not the reason. Your checkout page is great by being simple so its not that either.

    I hope you don’t mind me saying but your home page is letting you down a little – the Welcome section.

    The best advise I can give you is to put your products into Google base so they show in the shopping results of people’s searches. Its free if you do it yourself.

    Please take a look at my website http://www.babylovesshopping.co.uk. We are about to tackle a redesign so any comments about it are welcome too!

    Good luck!

    Reply
  • 2. sweetbabylula  |  June 12, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Thanks for your comments. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


From The Beginning

Welcome to my blog which I've set up to record the events following the opening of my online shop. I'm starting with the day the shop went live and recording the whole journey.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Kiddiebase

Links

My New Shop Bump To Bundle

Find Me On Facebook

Connect with me on BTTradespace

Find Me on FreeIndex

bookmark


